Allen County operates a countywide HAZMAT (hazardous materials) Team that is coordinated by the Allen County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management. The HAZMAT Team is under the direction of the Allen County Fire Chiefs Association and is comprised of more than fifty members from eleven police and fire departments from across the county.

Type I


Response Area

In 2008, the Allen County HAZMAT Team was declared to be Ohio’s first HAZMAT Team to be formally certified as a Type II (or advanced) HAZMAT Team by the State of Ohio Hazardous Materials Technical Advisory Committee. In August of 2011, Allen County's team became one of the FIRST OF ONLY SIX TEAMS STATEWIDE TO BE VERIFIED AT THE TYPE I LEVEL (most advanced, CBRNE-rated) as part of Ohio Strategic Hazmat plan.

While the primary response district for the Allen County HAZMAT Team is within Allen County, including the incorporated areas of the cities of Delphos and Lima, the team has also responded to chemical spills and releases in Auglaize, Hardin, Hancock, Putnam and Van Wert counties.